Novice Music Educator of the Year Award

The NMEA Outstanding Novice Music Educator award is given in recognition of outstanding promise in music education. Please see the application for additional criteria and selection process information. The application deadline is October 1 at 11:59 p.m. Central Time.


The purpose of this award is to recognize and honor an NMEA member for excellence in music education who has been teaching between three and seven years. Please be sure to read through the criteria as all materials are needed to submit your nomination. 

1. The nominee must be an NMEA member. 

2. The nominee must be actively teaching in Nebraska. 

3. The nominee must be in their third through seventh year of teaching. 

4. A resume of the nominee must be included. 

5. At least three letters of recommendation must accompany the official nomination. These must be collected by the primary nominator and forwarded with the official nomination form. The following sources should be represented:

  • An administrator from the nominee’s current program
  • Another music educator
  • A current student

Letters of recommendation should answer the following questions. Be brief but specific.

  • In what ways has the nominee demonstrated by example the basic principles and characteristics of an outstanding music educator, and promise for sustaining contributions to the field of music education?
  • In what ways does the nominee evidence excellence in music-making?
  • How does the nominee develop and sustain growth within his/her program?
  • How has the nominee’s teaching made an impact on students?
  • How has the nominee shown motivation toward professional growth and involvement?

The submission period has closed.






 Jake Senff

 Elkhorn South High School


 Elias Gillespie

 Lincoln Northeast High School


 Frank Stroup

 Lincoln Public Schools


 Brian Nelsen

 Elkhorn Ridge Middle School


 Katie Brauer Morris

 Elliott Elementary, Lincoln


 Megan O'Brien

 Zeman Elementary, Lincoln


 Maureen Beck

 Fairbury High School


 Tyler Gruttemeyer

 Omaha South High School


 Joshua R. F. Harris

 Shickley Public Schools


 Blake Thompson

 Harvard Public Schools


 Tye Hanke

 Bennington Jr/Sr High School


 Lindsay Lund

 Kearney Catholic High School


 Brittany Rom

 Millard South High School


 Kylee Bruce

 Wood River Rural School


 Curtis Isaacson

 Omaha Northwest High School 


 Nathan Metschke

 Neligh-Oakdale Public Schools


 Jennifer Orvis

 Plattsmouth Schools


 Andy Walters

 Papillion-LaVista Schools


 Brandy Hirschbrunner

 Plattsmouth Schools


 David Sackschewsky

 Grand Island Northwest High School


 Nolan Schmit

 Syracuse/Dunbar/Avoca Schools