Music Educator of the Year Award

Recipients of the prestigious NMEA Music Educator of the Year Award display excellence in every facet of music teaching in Nebraska. Please see the application form for additional criteria and nomination information. The application deadline is October 1 at 11:59 p.m. Central Time.


The purpose of this award is to recognize and honor an NMEA member for excellence in music education who has completed at least seven years of teaching. Please be sure to read through the criteria as all materials are needed to submit your nomination.

1. The nominee must be an NMEA member.

2. The nominee must have completed at least seven years of teaching.

3. The nominee must be currently actively teaching.

4. A resume of the nominee must be included.

5. At least three letters of recommendation must accompany the official nomination. These must be collected by the primary nominator and forwarded with the official nomination form. The following sources should be represented:

  • An administrator from the nominee's current program
  • Another music educator
  • A current parent and/or student

Letters of recommendation should answer the following questions. Be brief but specific.

  • In what ways has the nominee demonstrated by example the basic principles and characteristics of an outstanding music educator?
  • In what ways does the nominee evidence excellence in music-making?
  • How does the nominee demonstrate an interest in the total music education program?
  • How has the nominee shown creativity, originality, and imagination as a music educator?
  • How has the nominee’s teaching made an impact on students, the school, and the community?

The submission period has closed.




 RECIPIENT'S SCHOOL                     


 Craig Mathis

 Millard North High School


 J.R Gould

 Brownell Talbot School


 Jason Smith

 Wahoo Public Schools


 Danni Gilbert

 University of Nebraska-Lincoln


 Sandra Murphy-Robb

 Palmyra High School


 Dorothy Ladman

 UNL/LPS String Project


 Peter Wilger

 Omaha Central High School


 Sue Springer

 Sunrise Middle School, Kearney


 Joni Osborn

 Lincoln North Star High School


 Priscilla K. Balasa

 Grand Island Central Catholic Schools


 Michael Koch



 Doran Johnson

 Omaha Westside


 Randy Raines

 Gering Public Schools


 David Sackschewsky

 Grand Island Northwest High School


 Sandra (Tina) Whiston

 Lincoln Public Schools


 Deborah Mosier

 Catlin Elementary, Omaha Public School


 Stan Johnson

 Shickley Public School


 Sharon Hoffman

 Bayard Public School


 Michael Morris

 Crete High School


 Ryan Placek

 Bellevue East High School


 Joel Johnston

 Millard West High School


 Douglas Johnson

 Creighton Prep School


 Jim Schulz

 Lincoln Public Schools


 Mark Miller

 Omaha South High School

 1998  Jean McGee  Lexington Schools