Hall of Fame

Induction into the Hall of Fame is the most prestigious award bestowed to NMEA members. Nominee criteria is as follows:

  • Must be or have been a member of the Nebraska Music Education Association and NAfME (formerly MENC) throughout all or a greater portion of his/her career.
  • Must have had a significant career as a music educator.
  • Must have been an elementary, middle school, high school or college educator.
  • Must have contributed to the overall success of music education in Nebraska by being involved outside his/her own program.
  • Must have shown visible support of NMEA by regularly attending the November NMEA Conference.
  • Must have shown visible support of NMEA by agreeing to serve as an officer, committee member, contest manager, mentor, etc.

Additional information regarding eligibility and the nomination process can be found on the application. Nominations are due by May 1.

View a list of our past Hall of Fame Inductees

The 2020 & 2021 Hall of Fame Inductees

Due to COVID-19, NMEA recognized both the 2020 and 2021 Hall of Fame Inductees at the 2021 NMEA Conference Awards Dinner on November 18, 2021.


NMEA is proud to announce the induction of Fred Ritter as the 113th member of the NMEA Hall of Fame.

Fred Ritter was a director of vocal music for North Platte Public Schools from 1978-1989 and was the director of vocal music at Columbus High School in Columbus, NE from 1989-2015. He was an active member of the Nebraska Music Education Association for his entire career and would continue to teach, lead, and advocate for vocal music at nearly every level.

Fred Ritter Induction Video



NMEA is proud to announce the induction of Sharon Hoffman as the 114th member of the NMEA Hall of Fame.

Sharon Hoffman spent her career caring for her students and directing award winning choirs and show choirs. She was known as an expert in music education in small schools, and in the late 1980's her master's thesis helped to shape the face of maternity leave in Nebraska schools. Sharon received the Outstanding Music Educator award from NMEA in 2006 and in 2007 was honored with the same award by the NFHS.

Sharon Hoffman Induction Video