Career Teachers

NMEA will recognize Career Teacher members who have completed at least 25 years of teaching. Awards will be given in five year increments only, for 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, etc. years of teaching. The only exception to the five-year increment recognition are educators retiring in the current academic year, or those who have previously retired. Retirees may request a recognition for the total years of their teaching career, regardless of the five-year increment rule. To receive this recognition, NMEA membership is required; however, attendance at the conference and/or banquet is optional.

The Career Teacher Recognition application to be recognized at the 2023 Awards dinner is now open. Click the link below to complete our form and submit your recognition. The application form must be completed electronically by October 1 at 11:59 p.m. Central Time.

The submission period has closed.


Congratulations to the following teachers for their dedicated careers in music education!

Name Career Teacher Award Level School
Brady Rohlfs 25 Years (2020) Waverly High School
Regina Farris 25 Years (2022) Hampton Public School
Sandra Murphy-Robb 25 Years (2022) Scott Middle School, Lincoln
Mike Sindt 25 Years (2022) Pierce High School
Kevin Koopmann 26 Years, Retired Lincoln Public Schools
Sharon Bebout 30 Years, Retired Ashland-Greenwood Public School
Lance Nielsen 32 Years, Retired Lincoln Public Schools
Laureen Powell 40 Years Cross County Community School
Royce Shweitzer 50 Years (2022) Heartland Community School



Click the link below to see a full list of our past Career Teacher Recognition winners.

NMEA Career Teacher Recognition List